WGM Frayna crowned female chess champion PH


Grandmaster female Janelle Mae Frayna set back Shania Mae Mendoza in the 11th and final round to crown herself queen of the 2021 Philippine Women’s National Chess Championship at the PACE building in Quezon City on Thursday night.

Janelle Mae Frayna

The number one seed Frayna dominated second Mendoza in the opener to snatch a pawn, seal victory and claim her third women’s national title after reigning supreme in 2013 and 2016.

“It’s been a while since I won here because I have focused on men’s competition for the last few years,” said Frayna, 24. “It was a tough field and I’m glad I won.”

But the impressive performance was not without a hitch, as Frayna had to overcome a first-round loss to 13-year-old prodigy Ruelle Canino.

The defeat proved to be a blessing in disguise as it started a fire inside Frayna, who scored 7.5 points, highlighted by six wins since then to run away with the Championship, the best purse in the world. ‘worth 50,000 P and a seat for the Southeast Asian Games in Hanoi. in May of next year.

“She (Canino) is a good player and could be the future of Filipino chess. She beat me, no apologies, ”Frayna said. “It was a wake-up call for me and I decided to aim for victory in every game.”

Frayna ended up finishing one point ahead of eventual finalist Kylen Joy Mordido, who is a third and final result of following in the footsteps of the first as the country’s second WGM.

19-year-old Mordido halved the point with Cebu proud Marian Calimbo in 34 strokes from an England opening.

The Dasmarinas bet, Cavite went for the win and, in fact, grabbed a slight positional advantage.
But Mordido saw Frayna make the deal, which made it questionable for her to just draw.

Mendoza slid to join third place with third choice Jan Jodilyn Fronda, who shared the point with Marie-Antoinette San Diego, with six points apiece, but clinched third place in a tiebreaker.

The rest of the standings were completed by San Diego, Bernadette Galas, Rinoa Mariel Sadey, Allaney Jia Doroy, Canino, Lexie Grace Hernandez and Calimbo.

The event was supported by PSC President Butch Ramirez, Chess Movement, Inc. President, Dr Ariel Potot, PCSO Executive Director Royina Garma, Founder of Endgame Sports Atty. Cris Aspiras, President of POC Bambol Tolentino, Chief of NCFP Butch Pichay, Atty. Roel Canobas and Barkadahan Para sa Bansa are on the list of candidates Petchi Ragos and Atty. Juman Paa.


Comments are closed.