Checkmate – Charles County Students Compete in Winter Chess Tournament

Indian Head, Maryland – February 27, 2020 – More than 140 students participated in the Charles County Public Schools (CCPS) Winter Chess Tournament held Saturday, February 22, at Henry E. Lackey High School. The tournament is open to interested K-12 students.

The tournament follows a Swiss-style format in which each student plays four matches. Students compete in eight grade-level divisions, and trophies are awarded to division champions. Students who win a top finisher award in their respective categories receive a medal and all participants receive a certificate for their performance. Felix Cummings served as tournament director. The following students were recognized for their ranking in their division.

From kindergarten to first grade
• Luke McDonald, TC Martin Elementary School, Champion
• Derek Fletcher, Mary H. Matula Elementary School, top finisher
• Andrew Larkin, Billingsley Elementary School, top finisher
• Sophia McDonald, Martin, best graduate

Second year division
• Judge Rodriguez, William. B. Wade Elementary School, Champion
• Carlos Borders, Wade, best finisher
• Ashley Golder, Matula, best finisher
• Neha Mahato, Dr. Samuel A. Mudd Elementary School, top finisher
• Uriah Taylor, Arthur Middleton Elementary School, top finisher
• Jackson Wood, Dr. Thomas L. Higdon Elementary School, top finisher

Third year division
• Caleb Halverstadt, Wade, champion
• Luke Barrett, Higdon, best finisher
• Enzo Loredo, Dr. James Craik Elementary School, top finisher
• Orlando Rodriguez Jr., Wade, best finisher
• Lionel Saravia, Jenifer, best finisher
• Leslie Wheeler IV, Wade, best finisher

Fourth Grade Division
• Aundre Dudley, St. Mary’s Bryantown, champion
• Mason Constantine, St. Mary’s Bryantown, top finisher
• Colin Finley, Wade, best finisher
• James McDonald, Martin, best finisher
• Grant Pettersen, Walter J. Mitchell Elementary School, top finisher
• Colin Pheulpin, Mitchell, best finisher

Fifth grade division
• Christopher Ellison Jr., Craik, champion
• Cordell Cade, William A. Diggs Elementary School, top finisher
• Taylor Carter, Matula, best finisher
• Samuel Hawkins, Matula, best finisher
• Gregory Lavender, Wade, best finisher
• Camden Moreland, Mitchell, best finisher

Sixth Grade Division
• Nathanael Jean-Gilles, Theodore G. Davis Middle School, champion
• Journey Gardner, Milton M. Somers Middle School, top finisher

Seventh and Eighth Grade Division
• Joshua Dieterle, Somers, eighth year, champion
• Cole Barrett, Piccowaxen Middle School, seventh grade, top finisher
• Erin Cooley, General Smallwood Middle School, seventh grade, top finisher
• Sean Robertson, Piccowaxen, seventh year, top finisher
• Caleb Rogalski, Piccowaxen, seventh year, top finisher
• William Stalnaker, Robert D. Stethem Educational Center, eighth grade, top finisher

Ninth-Twelfth-Grade Division
• Caden Simpson, St. Charles High School, sophomore, champion
• Rahul Mahato, Thomas Stone High School Freshman, Top Finisher
• Sahil Patel, North Point High School, junior, top finisher
• Jacob Stern, North Point, junior, best finisher

Comments are closed.