2022 Meltwater Champions Tour dates announced

The next Meltwater Champions Chess Tour will feature 9 tournaments, starting on February 19, 2022 and ending with the final from November 11 to 20. The Tour, which helped launch and benefited from the huge boom in online chess over the past two years, is now becoming an established feature of the chess calendar, with Norwegian TV 2 signing a deal for broadcast it live for an additional five years. after this year’s tour ended in October.

The Aimchess US Rapid, the final regular event of the Meltwater Champions Chess Tour, begins August 28, before the final takes place a month later, starting September 25. However, plans are well advanced for the next edition of the Tour, with dates already set for 2022.

The schedule has been agreed in consultation with FIDE and major tournament organizers as we enter an exciting new era for chess where online and offboard events will combine to provide both great opportunities for players and players. almost uninterrupted entertainment for chess fans. .

Meltwater Champions Chess Tour 2022 season schedule

Tournament 1 Sat Feb 19 – Sun Feb 27
Tournament 2 Sat March 19 – Sun March 27

Major 1 Wed Apr 20 – Thu Apr 28

Tournament 3 Wed May 18 – Thu May 26
Tournament 4 Tue 28 Jun – Wed 06 Jul

Major 2 Mon 01 August – Tue 09 August

Tournament 5 Sat Sep 17 – Sun Sep 25
Tournament 6 Fri Oct 14 – Sat Oct 22

Final Fri Nov 11 – Sun Nov 20

The Tour received a vote of confidence thanks to a long-term deal with Norwegian television. TV 2 sports editor Vegard Jansen Hagen commented on the new 5-year broadcast rights deal:

The deal guarantees TV 2 access to premium level chess for years to come. Chess has become a steadily growing television sport in Norway. Partnering with the Meltwater Champions Chess Tour allows us to deliver an engaging show in a fast-paced, viewer-friendly chess format. The length of the Tour and the intervals between tournaments also make chess a sport almost all year round, featuring the best international Grand Masters.

Over 25 million hours of the Meltwater Champions Chess Tour have been viewed so far on online streaming platforms in its inaugural season, with two events remaining.

Next up is the Aimchess US Rapid, which kicks off on Saturday August 28 with world champion Magnus Carlsen headlining. Follow all the action live here on chess24.



Source link

Comments are closed.